skip to main content

Hickory Grove Students Participate in Competitions

It has been a busy few weeks here at Hickory Grove.  Student have been working hard and shining bright in competition.  The annual Propaganda Tournament was held at the IU6 on Wednesday, January 15th.  Hickory Grove students showed up to play and took home 2nd place in both the 3/4th and 5/6th grade divisions. The team of 4th graders to bring home 2nd place included Mia Cieleski, Olivia Cieleski, Emily Lindemuth, and Jordan Sarvey. 

Academic Challenge Team

The 6th grade team consisted of Leah Barnacastle, Sorren Morelli, Corinne Siar, and Ethan Taylor. Additionally, Sorren Morelli earned an award for 2nd highest points scored in the tournament with 58 points. Way to go teams! 

Hickory Grove students also attended the Academic Challenge Finals on Wednesday, January 22nd.  After a day of competitive play, the team brought home a first place win in the in gold bracket, earning 990 points.  The players included Olivia Cieleski, Sorren Morelli, Riley Phillips, Sergio Sotillo, and Aaron Turner. All team members were focused and persistent throughout the event, and they had a blast!

The Hickory Grove spelling bee was on Friday, January 24th.  Forty-four dedicated spellers in grades 3rd-6th came to compete against their peers.  After 12 rounds of extreme effort and focus, 6th grader Sorren Morelli earned the title of 2020 Hickory Grove Spelling Bee Champion! The winning word was “palindrome”! Fourth grader Brett McGee earned  First Runner-up and fourth grader Olivia Cieleski earned Second Runner-up.  A huge congratulations to the winners and all the spelling bee participants for their dedication and efforts.  Thank you to Mrs. Weaver, Miss Laura Chelgren, Mrs. Burton, and all the grade level teachers for assistance in administering the classroom spelling bees and running the event. Teamwork makes the dream work and we certainly have a great team! 


Propaganda- Clare McQuown, Mia Cieleski, Olivia Cieleski, Jordan Sarvey, Gabe Hollis, Brylee Stewart, Emily Lindemuth, Leah Barnacastle, Corinne Siar, Sorren Morelli, and Ethan Taylor

AC Finals- Olivia Cieleski, Riley Phillips, Sergio Sotillo, Sorren Morelli, and Aaron Turner

Submitted by Mrs. Christin McNeil

Hickory Grove Spelling Bee                                 

Hickory Grove Spelling Bee

Hickory Grove Propaganda Team

Hickory Grove Propaganda Team

Hickory Grove Propaganda Team Winner

Hickory Grove Spelling Bee Champ

Hickory Grove Propaganda Team

ADA Compliance Errors 0